Welcome!

IMG_7118

Hey there friends! Welcome to my blog! I’m Alyssa and I am so excited to start this space where I can share about my crafting endeavors (mostly scrapbooking and bible journaling related).

Before I start posting about said crafty endeavors, I wanted to tell a little bit about me, my family, and how/why I love to create. ❤

I’ve been married for seven years now to a pretty awesome guy.

021117e

And we’re parents to three mega-adorable kids, one who lives in heaven, and two who live with us.

Duncans0008

I stay home with my kids and we spend our days homeschooling, cleaning, crafting, reading, singing, photographing, laughing, training, and living our lives one 24-hour segment at a time. ❤

I have always been crafty to a degree…scrapbooking as a teen, trying to learn how to sew, decorating/rearranging, hand-lettering, etc. I did art in high-school and thought for a brief period of time that that’s what I was going to do afterwards. But life took a different turn and I got married and had babies and now, I wouldn’t change a thing. I didn’t feel like I did very much crafty stuff for a while, being a young mom, but what I did do, was photography. As soon as my son was born, I had to document each and every thing! Fast forward four-ish years and I was using yearly photo-books to document our lives. This was a convenient method of memory-keeping, but I was missing out on the hands-on part of the hobby and, what I didn’t realize until I started doing Project Life, was that I was also missing out on the journaling!

My modern-day scrapbooking journey actually began with Bible Journaling! A friend introduced me to it and after looking on Pinterest for more info and inspiration, I stumbled upon Illustrated Faith. Through bible-journaling, I fell head over heels in love with God again and through one of IF’s design team members, now my dear friend, I discovered pocket-page scrapbooking. I jumped in head-first and haven’t looked back since.

Now, I spend my creative time pretty equally on pocket scrapbooking (or Project Life) and bible journaling, with occasional time spent scrapbooking full-page projects, traveler’s notebooks, and hand-lettering. I don’t really love to try new things: once I find something I love, I usually stick with it. But, if there’s something I’ve learned from being a part of various crafty communities online and connecting with crafty friends, it’s that trying new things can be extremely fun and even lead to your new favorite thing!

IMG_1432

IMG_1021

So thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog and I hope you’ll stick around!

Duncans0016

Alyssa

 

 

4 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

